Our members are encouraged to faithfully read god's word

Each day we have a suggested passage and then some questions to consider.

Scroll done to find the current week.

This church school year we will be reading scripture passages and sections from beyond doubt by cornelius Plantinga jr.



December


     

    Walking in the Word

    Question #15

     But Why Are We Called Christians?

     

    Sunday December 23

         Read 2 Corinthians 1:1-22 and Beyond Doubt chapter 71.  What does it mean, you were anointed by God?

     

    Monday December 24

         Read Psalm 137 and Beyond Doubt chapter 72.  Do you ever feel as if you were in a stranger land? Should you?

     

    Tuesday December 25

         Read Luke 2.  What does the birth of Christ mean to you?

     

    Wednesday December 26

         Read Luke 14:25-35 and Beyond Doubt chapter 73.  If this is the cost of being a follower of Christ why would anyone want to be one?

     

    Thursday December 27

         Read Numbers 21:4-9 and Beyond Doubt chapter 74.  Can we really be inoculated against death? Have you been?

     

    Friday December 28

         Read Revelation 11:15-19 and Beyond Doubt chapter 75.  In Revelation 11 we are given a glimpse of what Plantinga is writing about here.

     

    Saturday December 29.

         Read Acts 11:19-30.  Where were the followers of Christ first called Christians?  Was it intended as a compliment?  Is it now?




    Question #14

     What is Jesus Doing?

     

    Sunday December 16

         Read 2 Peter 3.  How should a believe live in the tension of longing for the coming of Christ and being fully engaged on this earth?

     

    Monday December 17

         Read Acts 17:1-15 and Beyond Doubt chapter 66.  Is Plantinga right?

     

    Tuesday December 18

         Read 2 Corinthians 5:11-21 and Beyond Doubt chapter 67.  Are you able to think of a place or issue that needs your voice right now?

     

    Wednesday December 19

         Read 1 Peter 2:4-10 and Beyond Doubt chapter 68. Do you think it would be fair to say this is also true in the USA?

     

    Thursday December 20

         Read 1 Kings 19:1-18 and Beyond Doubt chapter 69.  Was there ever a time you felt like Elijah? Would one ever feel like Elijah in this chapter without being Elijah in the previous one?

     

    Friday December 21

         Read Colossians 1:15-23 and Beyond Doubt chapter 70. Can you think of any “secular” groups who seem to be leading in “Kingdom building?”

     

    Saturday December 22

         Read Luke 1:1-25.  Did you notice the question of the week asks “what is Jesus doing?” and all the readings were about the church?  What was Plantinga thinking?

     

     


    Question #13

     What did Jesus Do?

     

    Sunday December 9

         Read Habakkuk 3, how many of the Mighty Acts of God can you identify in this passage?

     

    Monday December 10

          Read Isaiah 60 and Beyond Doubt chapter 61.  If you have internet available, go to: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3V_ZZ6ENu-E, to find what Plantinga cites here.

     

    Tuesday December 11

         Read Luke 7:18-35 and Beyond Doubt chapter 62.  Jesus came to die so that we could live, and he came and lived to show us how to live.  How are you doing?

     

    Wednesday December 12

         Read Matthew 16:21-28 and 17:22,23 and Beyond Doubt chapter 63.  How sure was Jesus, he was on his way to his death?

     

    Thursday December 13

         Read Luke 23:26-43 and Beyond Doubt chapter 64.  Do you think it strange that Christians sing, “In the cross of Christ I glory”?

     

    Friday December 14

         Read 1 Corinthians 15:1-8 and Beyond Doubt chapter 65.  Paul wrote, “as of first importance,” is there such a thing as Christianity without the resurrection?

     

    Saturday December 15

         Read Isaiah 9:1-11 and recall the song and reading from Monday.  Do you long for the light?

    Question #12

     How Do People See Jesus?

     

    Sunday December 2

         Read Isaiah 11.  Remember this is speaking to the coming of the Messiah, not what we call the second coming.) Why were the people looking for the Messiah so expectantly? Are you?

     

    Monday December 3

         Read Mark 4:35-41 and Beyond Doubt chapter 56. How do you reconcile a Jesus who falls asleep in a boat and a Jesus who created the world?

     

    Tuesday December 4

         Read Matthew 14:22-33 and Beyond Doubt chapter 57. What does it take for Jesus to grab your attention?

     

    Wednesday December 5

         Read Matthew 16:13-20 and Beyond Doubt chapter 58. Can you think of any examples of what Plantinga writes in this chapter?

     

    Thursday December 6

         Read Matthew 27:27-31 and Beyond Doubt chapter 59. How did this chapter strike you? Have you ever heard anyone mock Jesus? How did you feel?

     

    Friday December 7

         Read John 10:1-21 and Beyond Doubt chapter 60.  Does being a follower of Christ add to or subtract from your freedom to enjoy this world?  How so?

     

    Saturday December 8

         Read Revelation 1.  How did Jesus reveal himself to John?



     

    Question #11

     Male and Female: How are we related?

     

    Sunday November 25

         Read 2 Kings 2 Who has been Elijah to you?

     

    Monday November 26

         Read Genesis 3 and Beyond Doubt chapter 51. When God told Eve “your desire will be for your husband, and he will rule over you.” Was that part of the curse? So what?

     

    Tuesday November 27

         Read Galatians 3:23-29 and Beyond Doubt chapter 52.  What is the context of Galatians 3:28? Have you ever heard (or said) anything like we read in this chapter?

     

    Wednesday November 28

         Read 1 Corinthians 6:12-20 and Beyond Doubt chapter 53. Can you find four reasons Paul gave for not being sexually immoral?

     

    Thursday November 29

         Read Proverbs 6:27,28 and Beyond Doubt chapter 54. What are these coals of fire?  Are we or should we be a bit embarrassed to read this chapter in Beyond Doubt?

     

    Friday November 30

         Read 1 Corinthians 13 and Beyond Doubt chapter 55.  “I Love because  …” is empty, fleeting, and vain; “I love you as Christ loves” is a gift the world will never comprehend.  Praise God for true love.

     

    Saturday December 1

         Read Song of Songs chapter 4  The writer of this poem is able to celebrate every aspect of his lover, what a gift!



      11 E. 32nd St.

      Holland, MI  49423


      . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


      616.392.2635

      bethany@bethanycrc.com